Masquerader

Masquerader

Who are you this time? Ball is over time to go home.Masquerader who took your coat? Ball is over time to go home but the music keeps playing and it drowns out my pain as we keep swaying and the tick of the clock somewhere out in the square and the horses are waiting like thieves in the night my chariot stands drenched in moonbeams evanescent light

Engraved in my mind is the sound of your voice and it resonates one, two, three and four. Your hand clutches my waist as the pale lights bathe us across the dance floor.Your face is so close I smell your desire and the smooth way your hardness plays soft with the music glides me into your arms, Masquerader who are you tonight?

Your dark hair cascades down the nape of your neck as my fingers brush lightly across it and your mouth curves in mysteries too deep to fathom inclusive of all that you are. A Lord, a Marauder, a thief in the night stealing my breath with your sighs hanging heavily in the soft shimmering lights engulfing my soul with the resonant sound of your heart beating rhythmically to the music and mine so close I could whisper your name,  Masquerader who are you tonight?

The moon intergrades with the sound of the sighs whispered under your breath as you guide me around the dance floor and I wonder and ponder the thrill of your arms beneath the smooth silk of your shirt as it plays like a kiss on your skin Masquerader who are you I wonder again as the sound of the clock in the square rings midnight and I am no closer than nearer to you in this moment than I ever have been in my life.

I stumble and mumble; you smile under your mustache so dark and so smooth and I feel the rough ache of your face next to mine pulling me closer much closer than that and I know you can feel my heart pounding deep into your chest in rhythm with yours so steady and strong my breath catches somewhere in my throat.

Oh Masquerader your breath burns my throat and I want to lie down in your arms and I know that you know that you own me this moment, you own me this moment so take me to places where I’ve never been like the places that live in my mind where a dark handsome Lord in a silk tailored coat rides up on a white steed and whisks me away into the moonlight, oh Masquerader is this just another one of my fancies, a fairy tale dream in the night?

Don’t let the music stop playing let it go on forever eternal inside of my mind as you lift me up into your arms and twirl me across the dance floor and moonbeams immerse us like nymphs in the night. The ball is over time to go home the ball is over time to go home but the music keeps playing a tune I have heard in my mind so many times before. I must clutch you tight around your neck to believe I hold you inside of my heart I don’t want to go home let the music play on, I want more Masquerader I know who you are.

Sharon Lynn Van Meter

Copyright 2006

About sharonsharinginsights

Namaste'! I write poetry, stories, essays, reviews, editorials, screenplays, lyrics.....you get the idea! I love to write. I graduated from UI&U in Vermont, U.S. with BA in Writing and Literature with a concentration in Women's Studies. I was chosen and interviewed as local artist for my writing on local online college magazine HOWL (circa 2003). My writings have been published in several genres and I have won numerous awards for my poetry. I am desirous of having my own collection of poetry and/or other writings published in my OWN book. I am passionate about women's issues, romance, love and a great number of benevolent causes. I am pretty passionate about almost anything that is NOT mundane or boring. I write from my soul (cliche' I know). Most of my work has been published and/or copyrighted (all either or both). My goal, again, is to publish a book of poetry, short stories, a novel, novellas, another song (collaborating with someone who writes music...hello, out there?)....OK more later, and thank you for checking me out! Sharon View all posts by sharonsharinginsights

One response to “Masquerader

Leave a Reply

Support

WordPress.com Support

Jamie Lee's Crystal Connection

A Forum of News, Support and Education for the Transgender Community

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Jules' Fuel

Fueling lifestyle wellness & purpose.

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

the hour of soft light...

How do I know what I think until I see what I say? (E.M. Forster)

Rawclyde's Code Room

On the alert for Love Peace & Freedom...

Books by Sharmishtha Basu

My (e) Books in Amazon Kindle n Createspace

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

Poetry and Musings

by: Kathleen Stevens

Words Becoming

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Memoirs of a Dragon

Dragon Thoughts and Quantum Musings

Catherine G. Vilbrun

Capturing Life With The Immortality Of Words

It Rains... You Get Wet

Still more lazy thoughts from this one...

rad infinitum

politics, pilgrimage, pop culture, poetry.

Relationship Reinvented

Reinvent your innocence to Reinvent your Relationships... Love Deeply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Wonders Of Writing

All about writing, poetry and more!

A Ghost Town Called Love

haunted by Rawclyde!

