The Unsolicited Response

The Unsolicited Response

 

Go ahead and inquire of me

And we’ll so just how eloquently

I can toss my words across the great divide

In an insurmountable effort to reach the other side

 

Only I won’t subterfuge

The essence of deity that is you

And your mass confusion

Creating an illusion

 

Of a simple complex task

Requiring slightly more than manipulation

And frustration is its core

For small wonders become obsessions

When the night is long and stretching

 

To eternity and my bed is like a glacier

On an ocean full of dreams

So vivid that your hands are all consuming

As reality is looming

Unwelcome as a curse upon my tongue

Where your name escapes captivity

From a buried treasure full of gold

In the dark recesses of my soul

 

Weighing down and locking in

All the passion of the truth

Held forever from my youth

Slaughtered by maturity

Whose precedent is tact

Malevolent for the act

Of improper concentration

On the art of prim sedation

As opposed to open speculation

Leaving everything exposed

To the scrutiny of my prose

 

Dripping thick with forbidden compromise

In the painful pleasure of your eyes

Brimming with hostility

For an established institution

Leaving any mere solution so blasé’

And there’s so much more to say

But that bird will never fly

Spread its wings into a sky

With alluring hoops and mazes

And seductive words and phrases

 

Which beckon basic primal instincts

Fashioned by the art of our reflection

In an extreme effort of survival from rejection

And nonchalance is the protection

For its safety first and foremost

Through unmitigated trust

For your honor is a must

And my virtue stands unshaken

On the path that we have taken

 

Living only for that moment

When the barriers may falter

And lose their grip of power

Be a second as forever but an hour

In my mind when heart plays unto heart

All is lost regards to time

And place and circumstance

Is a willing for the chance

To respond to and in kind

Be in subjection to the mind

For if not for the latter

Would it not but cease to matter?

 

For a brief interlude to build castles out of clay

And seek soothing restlessness by grasping whispers on the way

To the horizon of the sea

Crashing over you and me

Gasping in a reverie

Of unbridled ecstasy

Be it fate or destiny

In the meeting of the souls

As we fight for some control

Slipping on a downward spiral

To enhance the thrill of our survival

 

Where the desperation mingles

With the scent of satisfaction

And the beauty of it lingers there

To drive you to distraction

Alas, it is you queue

For my defenses now are shattered

And if it ever truly mattered,

Respond to me, I have to you.

 

Sharon Lynn Van Meter

Copyright 2001

 

 

About sharonsharinginsights

Namaste'! I write poetry, stories, essays, reviews, editorials, screenplays, lyrics.....you get the idea! I love to write. I graduated from UI&U in Vermont, U.S. with BA in Writing and Literature with a concentration in Women's Studies. I was chosen and interviewed as local artist for my writing on local online college magazine HOWL (circa 2003). My writings have been published in several genres and I have won numerous awards for my poetry. I am desirous of having my own collection of poetry and/or other writings published in my OWN book. I am passionate about women's issues, romance, love and a great number of benevolent causes. I am pretty passionate about almost anything that is NOT mundane or boring. I write from my soul (cliche' I know). Most of my work has been published and/or copyrighted (all either or both). My goal, again, is to publish a book of poetry, short stories, a novel, novellas, another song (collaborating with someone who writes music...hello, out there?)....OK more later, and thank you for checking me out! Sharon View all posts by sharonsharinginsights

Leave a Reply

Support

WordPress.com Support

Jamie Lee's Crystal Connection

A Forum of News, Support and Education for the Transgender Community

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Jules' Fuel

Fueling lifestyle wellness & purpose.

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

the hour of soft light...

How do I know what I think until I see what I say? (E.M. Forster)

Rawclyde's Code Room

On the alert for Love Peace & Freedom...

Books by Sharmishtha Basu

My (e) Books in Amazon Kindle n Createspace

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

Poetry and Musings

by: Kathleen Stevens

Words Becoming

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Memoirs of a Dragon

Dragon Thoughts and Quantum Musings

Catherine G. Vilbrun

Capturing Life With The Immortality Of Words

It Rains... You Get Wet

Still more lazy thoughts from this one...

rad infinitum

politics, pilgrimage, pop culture, poetry.

Relationship Reinvented

Reinvent your innocence to Reinvent your Relationships... Love Deeply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Wonders Of Writing

All about writing, poetry and more!

A Ghost Town Called Love

haunted by Rawclyde!

